The Iris Garden of Florence

may, 2021

01may5:00 pm6:00 pmEvent OverRescheduledFeaturedVirtual EventThe Iris Garden of FlorenceAn exclusive visit just for My Italian Treasures5:00 pm - 6:00 pm - Rome Time Lectures:Florence Iris Garden

Event Details

New DATE 1 MAY 2021

We have been granted after-hours access to the Florence’s splendid Iris Garden, which is only open for one month a year!

Join your host Elizabeth Namack and Iris Garden Association Member Angelica Turi for a virtual presentation via Zoom. Angelica is a licensed environmental guide and is completing the steps to become an Iris Competition Judge. She will join us on a LIVE WALK around this garden, located on the slopes below the city’s stunning terrace of Piazzale Michelangelo.

On this walk and talk, we’ll learn more about the city’s unique garden, which finds its perfect home in Florence, given that the iris is its official flower and symbol of Florence. The garden was founded in 1954 by Americans Flaminia Specht and Nita Ross Radicati. The purpose was to host an International Competition for the best iris varieties, the “Premio Firenze”. 2021 will be the 63rd year that a prize is awarded.

This unique space gained importance throughout the years thanks to local iris enthusiasts. The garden has been enriched by donations, including a special collection of historic irises.

 

 

This event is free of charge, however donations are happily accepted and encouraged. A portion of the proceeds will be donated directly to the Garden to support ongoing activities.

The virtual presentation will last about 1 hour, with time at the end for questions and answers.

**In case of inclement weather a rain date will be advised**

Join Elizabeth on Zoom at the following times:

  • 5:00 PM Italian Time
  • 11:00 AM US Eastern Time
  • 10:00 AM US Central Time
  • 9:00 AM US Mountain Time
  • 8:00 AM US Pacific Time

 

 

 

Read More

RSVP Now

RSVPing is closed at this time.

Virtual Event Details

Thank you for attending. It was fun to see you and we hoped you enjoyed the experience.

Time

(Saturday) 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm - Rome Time

Comments are closed.

X
X