PISA: A Virtual Live Walk and Talk

february, 2022

26feb5:00 pm6:00 pmPostponedPISA: A Virtual Live Walk and TalkDiscover this Tuscan town.... which is more than its tower!This event is POSTPONED and will be offered in the near future. 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm  - Rome Time Lectures:Pisa

Event Details

**LIVE FROM THE STREET** 

Join Tuscany expert Elizabeth Namack for a virtual presentation via Zoom to explore Florence’s neighbor to the west, PISA. Elizabeth will be joined by special guest and local expert Angelica Tura for a LIVE walk around the town. Time will be taken to explore the famous Piazza dei Miracoli with its breath-taking Cathedral of San Ranieri, the ornate Baptistery, and the world-famous Leaning Tower of Pisa–arguably the best-known bungle of all time.

Dating back to at least the 5th century B.C., Pisa lies along Tuscany’s coast, flanked by the Ligurian Sea. Many populations have ruled here, including the Greeks, Etruscans and Romans, with Pisa serving vital defense, maritime and trade roles.

Pisa also has a strong educational vocation, being home to the 12th-century University of Pisa and the Scuola Normale Superiore founded by in 1810 by Napoleon. The city also makes great contributions to light industry and is a transport hub due to its airport, roadways and extensive railway connections.

Still, there is no denying that Pisa is predominately known for its architectural booboo. The “Torre Pendente” was constructed over a total of 199 years, its foundations laid in 1173. The 296-step bell chamber was completed in 1372.The 7 bells were removed in 1989 to ease the weight on the lean that had subsequently worsened. After decades of study, works to straighten the tower were concluded in 2008.

Learn more about these monuments and other special gems located in the city. Given that entry is not currently permitted in many buildings at the time of day of our visit, we will discover virtually through images some of the artistic treasures housed inside.

This is event is free of charge, however donations are happily accepted. The virtual presentation will last about 1 hour with time at the end for questions and answers. My Italian Treasures looks forward to seeing you as we step back in time to discuss Medieval art and architecture!

 

Join My Italian Treasures on Zoom at the following times:

  • 5:00 PM Italian Time
  • 11:00 AM US Eastern Time
  • 10:00 AM US Central Time
  • 9:00 AM US Mountain Time
  • 8:00 AM US Pacific Time

 

**In case of inclement weather we will still have a zoom with shared images but without the live on the street component.**

 

 

 

Read More

Time

(Saturday) 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm  - Rome Time

Comments are closed.

X
X